Slepian Smith, PLLC

Phoenix Arizona Disability Law Blog

World AIDS Day is a good time to get educated, part 2

As we began discussing in our last post, Dec. 1 was the 30th annual World AIDS Day – a time to raise awareness of the worldwide HIV/AIDS epidemic. In our first post, we discussed the three stages of HIV/AIDS and how blood or fluid testing is the only sure way to reveal if the virus is in the body.

Here are three additional things to know about HIV/AIDS:

World AIDS Day is a good time to get educated, part 1

Dec. 1 was the 30th annual World AIDS Day, which was the first global health day and is intended to raise awareness of the worldwide HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Here are five things to know about HIV/AIDS:

New study suggests one in 40 U.S. kids has autism

A recently published study suggests that one in 40 kids in the United States has been diagnosed with autism, which is equal to about 1.5 million kids throughout the country.

The study also found that the parents of children with autism were 44 percent more likely to report experiencing a lot of difficulty getting the necessary mental health services for their children compared with parents of children with other emotional and behavioral issues.

Post-traumatic stress disorder doesn’t affect just veterans

It is true that many veterans suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) after returning from combat, and we most often hear about PTSD in this context. However, you don’t have to be a veteran to suffer from PTSD.

In fact, anyone who has been through a terrifying or traumatic event can end up being diagnosed with PTSD, according to the Mayo Clinic.

Lady Gaga becomes unlikely spokesperson for fibromyalgia, part 2

In our last post, we discussed how singer and actress Lady Gaga has shined a spotlight on fibromyalgia since the release of her Netflix documentary “Gaga: Five Foot Two” and her press tour for the latest remake of “A Star is Born,” which she stars in alongside Bradley Cooper.

Lady Gaga was diagnosed with fibromyalgia several years ago, and the star believes that post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) following a sexual assault at the age of 19 and breaking her hip while on tour in 2013 both contributed to the onset.

Lady Gaga becomes unlikely spokesperson for fibromyalgia, part 1

Fibromyalgia syndrome is a chronic disorder that affects an estimated 10 million people throughout the world. It involves widespread pain and tenderness throughout the body in addition to other symptoms, including fatigue.

Fibromyalgia is known as one of the most common chronic pain conditions, affecting 3 to 6 percent of the world population. Interestingly, fibromyalgia predominantly affects women, with between 75 and 90 percent of those affected being female. However, men and children suffer from the condition as well.

Does having a heart attack mean I will qualify for SSD?

Having a heart attack does not necessarily mean that a person will qualify for Social Security Disability benefits, but it could. The first thing to know is that having a heart attack alone or having bypass surgery does not automatically qualify an individual for disability benefits.

The Social Security Administration makes it much more difficult to qualify for benefits than that.

Essentially, the SSA knows that many people have heart attacks and/or bypass surgery and go on to live long and healthy lives after having time to recover.

Disability benefits are intended for people who are not able to work for 12 months or longer, and while having a heart attack is a significant and life-threatening health condition, the SSA wants to know that it will result in the applicant being out of work for at least 12 months.

Get educated: November is Diabetes Awareness Month

November is Diabetes Awareness Month, and its purpose has a lot more meaning than National Pizza Day, Best Friend Month or many of the other observances that have grown popular in recent years.

The purpose of Diabetes Awareness Month is to educate the public about all types of diabetes and to advocate for people affected by the disease. Like many diseases, there are a lot of misunderstandings and misconceptions about diabetes. Now is a great time to get educated with facts.

Polio-like virus has sickened hundreds of kids

Polio has been one of the most frightening diseases in American history and was especially common in the early 1900s. Many affected children suffered temporary or permanent paralysis and many others died. Permanent disability was a common result.

Polio was eventually eliminated from the Western Hemisphere in 1994, but is still a problem in some developing countries.

Because of its scary reputation, parents across Arizona and the rest of the U.S. have been terrified to learn that a polio-like virus has affected hundreds of children since an outbreak in 2014. The illness, which at this point is still rare, causes partial paralysis and is known as acute flaccid myelitis (AFM).

How casual references can minimize serious conditions

We have probably all heard people say something like they were depressed because their favorite TV show ended or that a work project left them so confused they felt like they were having a stroke. Maybe it was a friend describing his or her own appreciation for neatness as being obsessive-compulsive disorder.

While people might think these casual references to actual, serious medical conditions are harmless, the fact is that they can make sufferers of the actual conditions upset and misguided about their own health.